
COUNTY TREASURER EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ) 

 
 
Ohio law requires various public financial officials to receive continuing training in the 
investment and management of public finances.  This law was passed in the wake of a 
financial scandal involving investment losses by local governments that occurred in 1994.  
To prevent a repeat of those problems, the new training requirements were imposed. 
 
County treasurers have different continuing education requirements than other 
subdivision treasurers.  For guidance about these requirements and how they apply to you 
and others, please review the following “Frequently Asked Questions” (FAQ). 
 
Q. What are the continuing education requirements for a new county treasurer? 
 
A. Newly elected county treasurers must take initial training between December 1 and 

the time they take office, which ordinarily would be the first Monday of September 
following the person’s election to county treasurer.  The new treasurer must take 13 
hours of education approved by the auditor of state on governmental accounting, 
portfolio reporting and compliance, and 13 hours approved by the treasurer of state 
on investments and cash management. 

 
 A new county treasurer that has been appointed to fill a vacancy in office must 

complete initial education requirements within four (4) months of receiving the 
appointment. 

 
 If educational hours are not available during that period, appointed county 

treasurers may shadow another county’s county treasurer for up to eight hours of 
training.  Please contact the office of the Auditor of State for details. 

 
Q. After a year in office, what are the continuing education requirements for 

county treasurers? 
 
A. County treasurers must take 24 hours of continuing education every two calendar 

years after the first year in office.  The 24 hours of continuing education must be 
composed of 12 hours of governmental accounting, portfolio reporting and 
compliance, office management, cybersecurity, and any other subject area that the 
Auditor of State determines is reasonably related to the duties of the office of county 
treasurer and 12 hours of investments, cash management, collection of taxes, ethics 
and any other subject area that the treasurer of state determines relevant to duties 
of county treasurer from the treasurer of state.  

 
  

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/321.46
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/321.46


Q. Where can county treasurers receive the required training? 
 
A. The auditor of state training is available through the County Treasurers Association 

of Ohio.  The treasurer of state training is available through the Center for Public 
Investment Management (CPIM).   

 
Q. What happens if I do not complete the continuing education requirements? 

 
A. A county treasurer that does not meet the continuing education requirements is 

only permitted to invest in the following: 
 STAR Ohio; or 
 STAR Plus; or 
 No-load money market mutual funds pursuant to Revised Code 

§ 135.35(A)(5); or 
 Time certificates of deposit pursuant to Revised Code § 135.35(A)(6); or 
 Savings or deposits accounts pursuant to Revised Code § 135.35(A)(6). 
 
If a county treasurer fails to complete the continuing education requirements and 
invests in any other types of investments other than the five categories listed above, 
the county prosecutor is required to petition the court of common pleas to revoke 
the treasurer's authority to invest county funds and manage the county’s investment 
portfolio. 
 

Q. I hire outside investment managers, do I need training? 
 
A. Yes, you are still required to meet the continuing education requirements.  Also, 

outside investment managers must sign the county investment policy. See Revised 
Code §135.35(K)(1). 
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